Eleanor Beardsley http://blog.wlrn.org en Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://blog.wlrn.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 30362 at http://blog.wlrn.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://blog.wlrn.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:11:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 29660 at http://blog.wlrn.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://blog.wlrn.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 29543 at http://blog.wlrn.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://blog.wlrn.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 29365 at http://blog.wlrn.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://blog.wlrn.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 29317 at http://blog.wlrn.org With All Eyes On The East, A Seige Mentality Settles On Kiev http://blog.wlrn.org/post/all-eyes-east-seige-mentality-settles-kiev Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry held last-minute talks with his Russian counterpart, Sergey Lavrov, in London today, but there was no breakthrough. Kerry had been trying to head off the referendum on Crimean secession from Ukraine. That vote is set for Sunday. In a moment, we'll hear more about the situation in Crimea. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 29236 at http://blog.wlrn.org France Takes A Stand, Crushing Ivory Beneath The Eiffel Tower http://blog.wlrn.org/post/france-crushes-ivory-beneath-eiffel-tower Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR NEW. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>This past week, France became the first European country to destroy illegal ivory in a high profile public demonstration. It did so underneath the Eiffel Tower as part of a global effort to call attention to the illicit ivory trade. Sun, 09 Feb 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 27658 at http://blog.wlrn.org On Third Anniversary, Tunisians May Get A Constitution http://blog.wlrn.org/post/third-anniversary-tunisians-may-get-constitution Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The Arab Spring that brought those changes to Egypt began in Tunisia, exactly three years ago today. Tunisians overthrew their dictator, prompting a wave of uprisings across the region. But three years on, lawmakers are still struggling to ratify a new constitution and lay the foundations of their country's future. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 21:48:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26474 at http://blog.wlrn.org New Constitution Is A Sign Of Tunisia's Optimism http://blog.wlrn.org/post/new-constitution-sign-tunisias-optimism Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>On Tuesday, Tunisia will celebrate the third anniversary of its revolution. Tunisia is the country that inspired uprisings across the Arab world. Since then, that country has gone through tough times but it seems to have found its way again. Opposing sides have drafted the new constitution together. It will be ready in a couple days, and new elections are set for this year. Sun, 12 Jan 2014 14:56:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 26361 at http://blog.wlrn.org Nativity Scenes Liven Centuries-Old French Village http://blog.wlrn.org/post/nativity-scenes-liven-centuries-old-french-village Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The medieval village of Flavigny, France has livened up its winter streets with nativity scenes, 85 of them exhibited in windows of houses throughout the town. This centuries-old village has been doing this for five years now and it's bringing in crowds of tourists.<p>NPR's Eleanor Beardsley was one of them and she sent us this Christmas postcard.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF BELL)<p>ELEANOR BEARDSLEY, BYLINE: With a population of around 240 in the wintertime, the cobbled streets of Flavigny can seem austere and empty this time of year. Not anymore. Wed, 25 Dec 2013 10:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25623 at http://blog.wlrn.org Why French Troops Are Intervening In Africa — Again http://blog.wlrn.org/post/once-again-french-troops-intervene-africa Once again, French television screens are full of images of joyous Africans welcoming French troops.<p>In January, the French military intervened in Mali to help liberate large swaths of the country from radical jihadists. Now, for the second time this year, France has sent troops into an African country to quell violence.<p>Last week, French soldiers went into the Central African Republic to stop sectarian killings. Sun, 15 Dec 2013 13:23:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 25152 at http://blog.wlrn.org Why French Troops Are Intervening In Africa — Again Royal Gardener Planted The Seed Of Urban Planning At Versailles http://blog.wlrn.org/post/royal-gardener-planted-seed-urban-planning-versailles France's Chateau of Versailles has pulled out all the stops for one of its favorite sons, gardener Andre Le Notre, who designed the palace's famous gardens. Mon, 09 Dec 2013 22:47:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 24877 at http://blog.wlrn.org Royal Gardener Planted The Seed Of Urban Planning At Versailles As Inequality Grows, Swiss To Vote On Curbing Executive Pay http://blog.wlrn.org/post/inequality-grows-swiss-vote-curbing-executive-pay Switzerland may be known for watches, wealth and secretive bank accounts, but increasingly people believe that not everyone is reaping their share of the country's economic well-being.<p>So on Sunday, the Swiss will vote on a referendum that would limit a CEO's pay to 12 times that of the company's lowest-paid worker.<p>The youth wing of the Social Democratic Party collected the 100,000 signatures necessary to turn the measure, known as the 1:12 initiative, into a national referendum.<p>David Roth, head of the party's youth wing, says that 25 years ago Swiss CEOs made six times more than the a Fri, 22 Nov 2013 13:40:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 24078 at http://blog.wlrn.org As Inequality Grows, Swiss To Vote On Curbing Executive Pay In France, Some Ask If Racism Is On The Rise http://blog.wlrn.org/post/france-some-ask-if-racism-rise For the past week or so, France has been deep in debate, wondering if there's a resurgence of an old colonial racism, or if people have just become more tolerant of bigots.<p>The questions stem from a series of race-based taunts against Justice Minister Christiane Taubira, who is black. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 07:58:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 23721 at http://blog.wlrn.org In France, Some Ask If Racism Is On The Rise France Rethinks The Sanctity Of Its Day Of Rest http://blog.wlrn.org/post/france-rethinks-sanctity-its-day-rest There's a fight going on for the soul of France. Since 1906, Sunday has been deemed a collective day of rest in the country, and French law only allows stores to open on Sundays under very specific conditions — for example, if they're in a high tourist area. Sunday work is also tightly controlled.<p>But some people are questioning the sense of such a tradition in a languishing economy and 24/7 world.<p>A giant banner stretched across the opening of home improvement store Bricorama reads: "Open Monday through Saturday. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 21:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 23419 at http://blog.wlrn.org France Rethinks The Sanctity Of Its Day Of Rest