All Things Considered on WLRN http://blog.wlrn.org en A Knuckleball No More: World Cup Soccer Ball Gets A Redesign http://blog.wlrn.org/post/knuckleball-no-more-world-cup-soccer-ball-gets-redesign John Eric Goff, the chair of the physics department at Lynchburg College, explains the science of the 2014 World Cup soccer ball. The Adidas Brazuca is expected to perform better than the version used in South Africa in 2010. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:50:00 +0000 NPR Staff 31207 at http://blog.wlrn.org Online Sales Taxes Shift Consumer Behavior, Study Shows http://blog.wlrn.org/post/online-sales-taxes-shift-consumer-behavior-study-shows Technically, consumers are supposed to pay taxes on things they buy online. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:39:00 +0000 Yuki Noguchi 31193 at http://blog.wlrn.org Online Sales Taxes Shift Consumer Behavior, Study Shows Album Review: 'Abracaco' http://blog.wlrn.org/post/album-review-abracaco Caetano Veloso has been making music for over 40 years, and he's among the best known singers in his native Brazil. Banning Eyre says that Veloso's new album, <em>Abracaco</em>, is one of the most engaging in his epic career. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:35:00 +0000 editor 31201 at http://blog.wlrn.org Ex-Ranger Recalls The Friendly Fire That Killed Pat Tillman http://blog.wlrn.org/post/ex-ranger-recalls-friendly-fire-killed-pat-tillman Ten years ago Tuesday, former NFL star Pat Tillman was killed by friendly fire in Afghanistan. Steven Elliott was one of the Army Rangers who fired on Tillman, and <a href="http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/10816260/pat-tillman-enduring-guilt">he told his story recently on ESPN's <em>Outside the Lines</em>.</a> <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 NPR Staff 31202 at http://blog.wlrn.org Searching The Planet To Find Power For The Cloud http://blog.wlrn.org/post/searching-planet-find-power-cloud <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FJ6_kEEKJg</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 editor 31145 at http://blog.wlrn.org Searching The Planet To Find Power For The Cloud The Tawdry Ballad Of A Man, A Casino And A Game Of Chance http://blog.wlrn.org/post/tawdry-ballad-man-casino-and-game-chance Millionaire Chinese gamblers, high-class Mongolian escorts, drunken Englishmen — these are the kind of characters who populate Lawrence Osborne's hypnotic new novel, <em>The Ballad of a Small Player</em>. Set in the hotels and casinos of Macau, a former Portuguese colony where ostentatious 21st century glamour meets the faded charms of old Asia, the novel traces the trajectory of a compulsive gambler, the self-styled "Lord" Doyle, a man who seems addicted to failure. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 21:29:00 +0000 Tash Aw 31144 at http://blog.wlrn.org The Tawdry Ballad Of A Man, A Casino And A Game Of Chance To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image http://blog.wlrn.org/post/keep-business-growing-vendors-rebrand-pots-stoner-image From the outside, Jan Cole's recreational marijuana store in Boulder, Colo., just feels welcoming. Big glass windows let in natural light, and the walls are painted in soothing earth tones. Cole used her background in spa management to build a "warm and inviting" pot shop that puts customers at ease.<p>In fact, the store's name, The Farm, is so inconspicuous, "we have a lot of people who come in think that we might be an organic food grocer or something," she says.<p>And that's exactly who Cole is trying to attract: the tote-bag carrying, socially conscious, natural-food crowd. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:54:00 +0000 editor 31141 at http://blog.wlrn.org To Keep Business Growing, Vendors Rebrand Pot's Stoner Image Robotic Exoskeleton Helps Get Vets Back On Their Feet http://blog.wlrn.org/post/robotic-exoskeleton-helps-get-vets-back-their-feet Several bio-tech companies are developing exoskeletons that give people superhuman abilities. These robotic suits are also doing something simpler: They're helping people who are paralyzed, including many veterans, stand up and walk. As Erin Toner of WUWM reports, the technology helps improve patients' mental and physical health, but it's far from changing their lives entirely. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 Milwaukee Public Radio. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:39:00 +0000 editor 31142 at http://blog.wlrn.org 'Boondocks' Returns After Four Years To An Altered Comedy Landscape http://blog.wlrn.org/post/after-four-years-away-boondocks-returns-tv When celebrity chef Paula Deen got in trouble for <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/2013/06/20/193913397/stuff-you-might-have-missed-in-the-paula-deen-brouhaha">maybe being racist</a> last year, I couldn't help but think about <em>The Boondocks</em>. The Deen controversy, and all of the comedic potential it provided, seemed to be perfect fodder for an episode of the Peabody Award-winning show that airs on Cartoon Network's Adult Swim.<p>But the show has been on hiatus for four years. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 31139 at http://blog.wlrn.org 'Boondocks' Returns After Four Years To An Altered Comedy Landscape Teen Stowaway Somehow Survives Flight To Hawaii In Wheel Well http://blog.wlrn.org/post/teen-stowaway-somehow-survives-flight-hawaii-wheel-well The FBI is saying that a 16-year-old boy is lucky to be alive after he hid in the wheel well of a flight from San Jose to Maui. Severe temperatures and low oxygen would make survival difficult. Investigators are examining the case. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Richard Gonzales 31134 at http://blog.wlrn.org Some In Irwindale Still Not Happy About Smelly Neighbor, Sriracha http://blog.wlrn.org/post/some-irwindale-still-not-happy-about-smelly-neighbor-sriracha The skirmish continues between Sriracha and Irwindale, Calif. Irwindale's city council declared that owner David Tran must curb his hot sauce factory's smelly fumes or they'll do it themselves. Tran is considering relocating, and he has already received several offers. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 31140 at http://blog.wlrn.org Hey, Kids, Remember You're On Our Side: The FBI Makes A Movie http://blog.wlrn.org/post/hey-kids-remember-youre-our-side-fbi-makes-movie <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pYCz-oVDBg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8xlUNK4JHQ</p> Sun, 20 Apr 2014 21:42:00 +0000 NPR Staff 31087 at http://blog.wlrn.org Hey, Kids, Remember You're On Our Side: The FBI Makes A Movie In South Korea, Ferry Rescue Efforts Yield Only Grisly Results http://blog.wlrn.org/post/south-korea-ferry-rescue-efforts-yield-only-grim-results Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR West. I'm Arun Rath. It has been a grim Easter Sunday for relatives of passengers who were on the ferry that capsized off the coast of South Korea on Wednesday. The death toll from that disaster is now over 50, with about 240 people still missing, most of them high school students. Today, divers started retrieving bodies from inside the vessel.<p>NPR's Anthony Kuhn is covering the story in Seoul and joins us now. Anthony, it took divers about four days before they could get in the ship and recover bodies. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Arun Rath 31081 at http://blog.wlrn.org A Scientific Experiment: Field Trips Just For Teachers http://blog.wlrn.org/post/scientific-experiment-field-trips-just-teachers In a classroom across from the coal mine exhibit at the Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry, students are huddled around tables, studying petri dishes of bacteria.<p>But these aren't school-age kids — these students are all teachers, responsible for imparting science to upper-elementary or middle-school students.<p>That's a job that many here — and many teachers in grammar schools around the country — feel unprepared for.<p>"That's why I'm here," says fifth-grade teacher Joel Spears. "I teach all the subjects. I went in not knowing how to teach science, really. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 21:00:00 +0000 editor 31083 at http://blog.wlrn.org A Scientific Experiment: Field Trips Just For Teachers Honey, Blood And Harmony: Jordi Savall's Balkan Journey http://blog.wlrn.org/post/honey-blood-and-harmony-jordi-savalls-balkan-journey <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15327828/jordi-savall" target="_blank">Jordi Savall</a> has made a career of reviving ancient music. Whatever the age of the songs, though, he doesn't play them as museum-piece recreations, preserved in isolation. Savall takes great pleasure in <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/126390261/jordi-savall-tracing-jerusalems-history-in-music" target="_blank">smashing together music</a> from different times and different cultures.<p>At his concerts, it's difficult to predict what might happen — or who might show up. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 21:00:00 +0000 NPR Staff 31088 at http://blog.wlrn.org Honey, Blood And Harmony: Jordi Savall's Balkan Journey