teacher http://blog.wlrn.org en Teacher’s Final Quest to Discover Life’s Greatest Lessons http://blog.wlrn.org/post/teacher-s-final-quest-discover-life-s-greatest-lessons <p></p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 26739 at http://blog.wlrn.org Teacher’s Final Quest to Discover Life’s Greatest Lessons Q&A: Teacher's Union Chief Questions Pace Of Transition To New Standards http://blog.wlrn.org/post/qa-teachers-union-chief-questions-pace-transition-new-standards Florida is working toward full implementation of <a href="http://stateimpact.npr.org/florida/tag/common-core/">Common Core State Standards</a> by the 2014-15 school year.<p>The standards set benchmarks for each grade level. Thu, 18 Apr 2013 15:02:47 +0000 Gina Jordan 12640 at http://blog.wlrn.org Florida Board Of Education To Meet; Common Core, Teacher Pay Top Agenda http://blog.wlrn.org/post/florida-board-education-meet-common-core-teacher-pay-top-agenda Will Florida need a &#8216;Plan B&#8217; test for new standards set to hit state schools in 2014? Mon, 15 Apr 2013 21:06:24 +0000 John O'Connor & John O"Connor 12476 at http://blog.wlrn.org The Resignation Letter That Has Common Core Critics Talking http://blog.wlrn.org/post/teacher-resignation-letter-becomes-rallying-cry-critics-common-core As the spring semester winds down around the country, one teacher, Gerald Conti, is not going quietly.<p>Conti is retiring from <a href="http://www.westhillschools.org/teacherpage.cfm?teacher=947">Westhill High School</a> in Syracuse, NY at the end of this school year and his resignation letter has become a manifesto for critics of the Common Core.<p>In his letter — which he <a href="https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=494420730617701&set=a.106984866027958.10537.100001493364894&type=1">posted in full on Facebook </a>— Conti laments that the push towards standardized testing and the <a href Mon, 15 Apr 2013 20:04:35 +0000 Sammy Mack 12473 at http://blog.wlrn.org Website Tracks School Progress On Implementing New Education Standards http://blog.wlrn.org/post/website-tracks-school-progress-implementing-new-education-standards The State Board of Education will get an update next week on Florida&#8217;s next education standards, the <a href="http://stateimpact.npr.org/florida/tag/common-core/">Common Core State Standards.</a><p>The meeting will include <a href="http://www.fldoe.org/board/meetings/2013_04_16/agenda.asp">information about the technology</a> needed to implement the new assessments that are scheduled to begin in early 2015.<p>Florida is among a group of states developing the <a href="http://www.parcconline.org/about-parcc ">PARCC assessments</a>, or Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Wed, 10 Apr 2013 20:28:44 +0000 Gina Jordan 12224 at http://blog.wlrn.org Democrats Seek $10,000 Raise For Teachers http://blog.wlrn.org/post/democrats-seek-10000-raise-teachers <p></p><p>Florida voters may be asked to raise the salary of a rookie teacher by $10,000 starting two years from now. If they approve, the pay increase would be part of a constitutional amendment that ties Florida teacher pay scales at all career levels to national averages.</p><p>The average Florida teacher salary now is $46,000, about $10,000 less than the national average.</p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Rick Stone 8489 at http://blog.wlrn.org Democrats Seek $10,000 Raise For Teachers