essay http://blog.wlrn.org en Letter From Key West: Appreciating The Off-Season http://blog.wlrn.org/post/letter-key-west-appreciating-season <p>June 20th was the official first day of summer, but &nbsp;it’s felt like summer for weeks already. &nbsp;Many of us dread the humid days when we can barely walk to our cars without breaking a sweat. &nbsp;Writer Nancy Klingener has learned to appreciate summer and the off-season in Key West. Her full essay is below.</p><p>Nancy Klingener describes herself as “a recovering journalist, aspiring librarian and addicted reader” living in&nbsp;Key West, Florida. She’s also the writer behind the&nbsp;<a href="http://boneislandbooks.wordpress.com/" target="_blank">The Bone Island Book Blog</a>.</p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 22:26:14 +0000 Nancy Klingener 1385 at http://blog.wlrn.org Letter From Key West: Appreciating The Off-Season Loyalty Oath http://blog.wlrn.org/post/loyalty-oath <p></p> Tue, 02 Oct 2012 16:30:38 +0000 Madeleine Blais 1574 at http://blog.wlrn.org Loyalty Oath The Green Blotch: Hurricane Andrew Through A Six-Year-Old's Eyes http://blog.wlrn.org/post/green-blotch-hurricane-andrew-through-six-year-olds-eyes <p></p> Fri, 13 Jul 2012 02:19:19 +0000 Trina Sargalski & Daniel Rivero 1293 at http://blog.wlrn.org The Green Blotch: Hurricane Andrew Through A Six-Year-Old's Eyes Letters From Key West: Bank Robbers With Sardines, Bicycles And Pitchforks http://blog.wlrn.org/post/letters-key-west-bank-robbers-sardines-bicycles-and-pitchforks <p></p> Wed, 14 Mar 2012 21:37:47 +0000 Mark Hedden 1562 at http://blog.wlrn.org Letters From Key West: Bank Robbers With Sardines, Bicycles And Pitchforks Diana Abu-Jaber's Recipes For Baklava And Tabbouleh http://blog.wlrn.org/post/diana-abu-jabers-recipes-baklava-and-tabbouleh <p></p> Wed, 14 Dec 2011 17:44:16 +0000 Staff 1575 at http://blog.wlrn.org Diana Abu-Jaber's Recipes For Baklava And Tabbouleh Walter And Edith, By Jeremy Glazer http://blog.wlrn.org/post/walter-and-edith-jeremy-glazer <p><a href="mailto:jeremyglazer@yahoo.com">Jeremy Glazer</a> is a legislative analyst, a former high school teacher and a Miami native. On his phone message, he has been known to identify himself as a “future hall-of-famer,” but he says he hasn’t decided yet which hall of fame or what his achievement will be. He recently finished his first novel and is looking for a publisher.</p> Wed, 20 Apr 2011 20:14:43 +0000 Staff 2698 at http://blog.wlrn.org Walter And Edith, By Jeremy Glazer Dear Miami http://blog.wlrn.org/post/dear-miami <p>Author Diana Abu-Jaber, who teaches at Portland State University, splits her time between Portland and Miami. In her ode to Miami, she compares the city to a disheveled party girl – beautiful but not the kind you settle down with. Before she came to Miami, people warned her that the city was a vacation destination, not a place to call home. Sure, everyone sees the superficial, but few see the heart and mind beneath the flash. For this Arab-American girl who couldn’t sit still in one place, the city understood her. Those who don’t quite fit in anywhere else, somehow do in Miami.</p> Thu, 10 Mar 2011 19:55:26 +0000 Diana Abu-Jaber 2682 at http://blog.wlrn.org Dear Miami They Always Leave, By Jeremy Glazer http://blog.wlrn.org/post/they-always-leave-jeremy-glazer <p><strong>Jeremy Glazer </strong>is&nbsp;a legislative analyst, a former high school teacher, and&nbsp;a Miami native.&nbsp; On his phone message, he&nbsp;has been known to identify himself as a “future hall-of-famer,” but he says he hasn’t decided yet which hall of fame,&nbsp;or what his&nbsp;achievement&nbsp;will be.&nbsp; He recently finished his first novel and is looking for a publisher.</p> Thu, 21 Oct 2010 18:17:09 +0000 Staff 2503 at http://blog.wlrn.org They Always Leave, By Jeremy Glazer Mismatch.com, By Jeremy Glazer http://blog.wlrn.org/post/mismatchcom-jeremy-glazer <p>Jeremy Glazer writes about the ups and downs of&nbsp;&nbsp;internet dating in his story, <em> Mismatch.com</em>. Glazer read this piece at a&nbsp;recent&nbsp;<a href="http://www.lipservicestories.com/" target="_blank">Lip Service</a> event at&nbsp; <a href="http://wlrnunderthesun.org/2010/10/mismatch-com-by-jeremy-glazer/www.booksandbooks.com/" target="_blank">Books &amp; Books</a> in Coral Gables. It was recorded at the WLRN studios.</p><p style="text-align: center;"><strong>Mismatch.com</strong></p> Thu, 21 Oct 2010 18:14:09 +0000 Staff 2504 at http://blog.wlrn.org Jeremy Glazer Reads “Souvenir” http://blog.wlrn.org/post/jeremy-glazer-reads-souvenir <p style="text-align: left;"><strong>Jeremy Glazer</strong> is&nbsp;a legislative analyst, a former high school teacher, and that rare breed– a Miami native.&nbsp; He identifies himself as a “future hall-of-famer” on his phone message, but he says he hasn’t decided yet which hall of fame,&nbsp;or what his&nbsp;achievement&nbsp;will be.&nbsp; He recently finished his first novel.</p> Thu, 28 Jan 2010 18:19:46 +0000 Staff 2335 at http://blog.wlrn.org Jeremy Glazer Reads “Souvenir”