women http://blog.wlrn.org en Study: Black Women Underepresented At All Levels Of Political Office http://blog.wlrn.org/post/study-black-women-underepresented-all-levels-political-office <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><a href="http://www.higherheightsforamerica.org/reports" target="_blank">A recent study</a> found black women are underrepresented at all levels of politics — federal, state and local government.</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:48:02 +0000 Nadege Green 35657 at http://blog.wlrn.org Study: Black Women Underepresented At All Levels Of Political Office Women’s History Month http://blog.wlrn.org/post/women-s-history-month <p></p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 28783 at http://blog.wlrn.org Women’s History Month Tech Group 'Chicas Poderosas' Comes To FIU's Journalism School http://blog.wlrn.org/post/tech-group-chicas-poderosas-comes-fius-journalism-school <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">One Portuguese woman is set on the mission to educate women journalists on technology and leadership.</span></p><p>Fittingly, Mariana Santos spoke at FIU's&nbsp;Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver&nbsp;Center for the Advancement of Women in Communications this Tuesday, telling students and staff about her experiences working at the Guardian, in Latin America and in the current state of journalism.</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 00:33:43 +0000 Diego Saldaña-Rojas 28740 at http://blog.wlrn.org Tech Group 'Chicas Poderosas' Comes To FIU's Journalism School 1 Billion Rising for Justice Miami http://blog.wlrn.org/post/1-billion-rising-justice-miami <p></p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 27802 at http://blog.wlrn.org 1 Billion Rising for Justice Miami Muslim Undergarments, 'Slut Energy' At New Broward College Drama Series http://blog.wlrn.org/post/muslim-undergarments-slut-energy-new-broward-college-drama-series <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Thought-provoking cultural experiences have made their way to Pembroke Pines.</span></p><p>In September of 2013, Broward College launched an arts and cultural initiative on its Pembroke Pines campus, which operates as one of three campuses functioning as separate entities. This young program is also referred to as "B.SOCA," or Broward College South Campus Office of Cultural Affairs.</p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:59:21 +0000 Andrea Richard 27440 at http://blog.wlrn.org Muslim Undergarments, 'Slut Energy' At New Broward College Drama Series Women In Art Symposium Tackles Inequality In Galleries http://blog.wlrn.org/post/women-art-symposium-tackles-inequality-galleries <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Art Miami, an Art Basel satellite fair, held a symposium this week on women in the arts.</span></p> Sat, 07 Dec 2013 21:22:39 +0000 Wilson Sayre 24762 at http://blog.wlrn.org Women In Art Symposium Tackles Inequality In Galleries Habitat For Humanity: Women Helping Women http://blog.wlrn.org/post/habitat-humanity-women-helping-women <p></p> Thu, 18 Apr 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 12565 at http://blog.wlrn.org Habitat For Humanity: Women Helping Women 1 year. No Makeup. The Beauty Experiment. http://blog.wlrn.org/post/1-year-no-makeup-beauty-experiment <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">03/25/13 - Monday’s &nbsp;</span><a href="https://www.facebook.com/TopicalCurrents"><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">Topical Currents</strong></a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is with journalist <strong><a href="http://phoebebakerhyde.com">Phoebe Baker Hyde,</a></strong> about her dilemma of a “perfect storm” of self-doubt. &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">She struggled with the notion that as a professional woman, she should be encumbered with the expense and trappings of fashion, makeup, new clothes, salon haircuts and jewelry. Mon, 25 Mar 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 11359 at http://blog.wlrn.org 1 year. No Makeup. The Beauty Experiment. Women & Decreased Sexual Desire http://blog.wlrn.org/post/women-decreased-sexual-desire <p></p> Wed, 05 May 2010 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper 31249 at http://blog.wlrn.org Women & Decreased Sexual Desire