authors http://blog.wlrn.org en "Viaje One Way," Anthology Of Miami's Latin Cultures, At The Betsy Hotel http://blog.wlrn.org/post/viaje-one-way-anthology-miamis-latin-cultures-betsy-hotel <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">“Viaje One Way” is a Spanish-language anthology of authors from Latin America and Spain. Hernan&nbsp;Vera Alvarez, one of the editors, says the book is "a mirror of the&nbsp;21st-Century Miami."</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">"Before there were anthologies of Cuban writers in Miami," he says, "but this book is the first one that unites Latin American, Spanish and Cuban writers."</span></p><p>Alvarez moved to the U.S. from Argentina when he was 23 years old. Below, he talks about the new "Viaje One Way."</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:47:55 +0000 Constanza Gallardo 34597 at http://blog.wlrn.org "Viaje One Way," Anthology Of Miami's Latin Cultures, At The Betsy Hotel Author Roxane Gay Discusses Her Debut Novel http://blog.wlrn.org/post/author-roxane-gay-discusses-her-debut-novel <p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 16:33:32 +0000 Bonnie Berman, Joseph Cooper, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 32571 at http://blog.wlrn.org Author Roxane Gay Discusses Her Debut Novel Novelist Allan Gurganus http://blog.wlrn.org/post/novelist-allan-gurganus <p></p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 18:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 25802 at http://blog.wlrn.org Novelist Allan Gurganus Celebrate Writers On Knitting And Knitters http://blog.wlrn.org/post/celebrate-writers-knitting-and-knitters <p></p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 24754 at http://blog.wlrn.org Celebrate Writers On Knitting And Knitters Every Boy Should Have a Man http://blog.wlrn.org/post/every-boy-should-have-man <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; line-height: 21.988636016845703px;">09/18/13 - </span><a href="http://wlrn.org/people/ariel-gonzalez" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(62, 72, 122); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 21.988636016845703px;"><strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">Ariel Gonzalez</strong></a><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font Wed, 18 Sep 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 21837 at http://blog.wlrn.org Every Boy Should Have a Man Leftover Angst About The Vietnam War http://blog.wlrn.org/post/leftover-angst-about-vietnam-war <p></p> Mon, 16 Sep 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 20757 at http://blog.wlrn.org Leftover Angst About The Vietnam War Summer Reading List For Floridians (Yes, This Includes That 'Rolling Stone' Story) http://blog.wlrn.org/post/summer-reading-list-floridians-yes-includes-rolling-stone-story <p>Summer is the time when snow birds and tourists abandon the state and leave native Floridians to swelter alone in the subtropical sun. Instead of bemoaning the heat and humidity (and occasional hurricane), delve into some writings that celebrate -- at least, in most cases -- what it means to live in this state.</p> Tue, 02 Jul 2013 11:15:00 +0000 Tricia Woolfenden 16607 at http://blog.wlrn.org Summer Reading List For Floridians (Yes, This Includes That 'Rolling Stone' Story) The Fifth Assassin http://blog.wlrn.org/post/fifth-assassin <p></p> Tue, 14 May 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 14044 at http://blog.wlrn.org The Fifth Assassin Flying Under The Radar With Six Hip South Florida Writers http://blog.wlrn.org/post/flying-under-radar-six-hip-south-florida-writers <p>Last month, we introduced you to&nbsp;<a href="http://wlrn.org/post/nine-acclaimed-authors-you-didnt-know-lived-south-florida" target="_blank">nine acclaimed authors who call South Florida their home</a>, at least part-time. But that was just a small sampling. South Florida boats a tribe of critically acclaimed scribes living anywhere from the Florida Keys to Palm Beach County. Below are seven folks who are building on the tradition of hometown heroes like Dave Barry and Carl Hiaasen (who actually now lives just a little bit further north in Vero Beach.)</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Arielle Castillo 12482 at http://blog.wlrn.org Flying Under The Radar With Six Hip South Florida Writers